Spicy Chocolate Cookies

It’s weekends like these when I realize I don’t bake things nearly as often as I ought to.

There are a couple of reasons why I was in a baking mood yesterday. One is that I spent an entire day at work this past week writing a press kit for a soon-to-be released cookbook all about baking vintage cakes. Another is that a couple of weeks ago, one of my coworkers brought in a plate of her specialty cookies, which were spicy chocolate cookies cooked with cayenne pepper and grated ginger and topped with sea salt. They sound weird, but I couldn’t get enough of these cookies. That’s how I decided to bake these.

I never asked my coworker for her recipe—maybe next time she brings them in!—but I did find a promising one on Local Milk, a lovely food blog with gorgeous photographs (seriously, check it out if you have time!). This recipe definitely isn’t the same as the one Morgan used, since it definitely does not call for grated ginger, but I made my cookies using this recipe, adding a couple of extra ingredients, and they turned out wonderfully!

Spicy Chocolate Cookies (adapted from Local Milk)

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup cocoa powder
2 teaspoons sea salt
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cayenne
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ginger (I used the powder)
3/4 cup unsalted butter at room temperature
1 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 eggs
1 chocolate-chili bar broken into small pieces (I used Lindt’s Chili Excellence Bar)
1 dark chocolate bar broken into small pieces (I used Hershey’s Special Dark bar)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 375ºF.
2. Whisk together the flour, cocoa, sea salt, baking soda, baking powder, and cayenne.
3. Use a mixer to cream butter until fluffy in a separate bowl.
4. Beat brown sugar and sugar in with the butter.
5. Beat in vanilla and one egg at a time, then mix in with flour mixture.
6. Stir in chocolate chunks.
7. Refrigerate dough for at least a few hours if you’d like.
8. Roll into small balls and place two inches apart on a greased cookie sheet.
9. Bake 12-16 minutes, and cool on a rack.

2 thoughts on “Spicy Chocolate Cookies

Leave a Reply

